Skip to the content

Programs · No. 1.03

Forward deployed engineer training: the live programs compared

Four kinds of live forward deployed engineer training, what each asks of you, who reviews your work and what it costs, with a verdict for experienced engineers, career changers and anyone who needs income while retraining.

Highlights

  1. Our top pick: Torchlane's AI FDE training, a program for people starting from engineering or from a business role, with a 90-day training goal, a starting plan of about nine hours a week and assessed simulated client projects; you can apply without coding experience, and it says it does not guarantee hiring, a salary or a promotion⁠1,2. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
  2. Live FDE training comes in four types: short live cohorts, multi-month part-time programs, train-and-place pathways that employ you, and employer programs sold to companies⁠3,4,5,6; the three Maven cohorts we checked listed $1,200 to $3,000 for two to six weeks on 22 October 2026⁠7,8,3.
  3. Revolent trains experienced engineers for six to eight weeks, then places them with a client as Revolent employees for up to two years; it says a permanent offer is the intended outcome, not a guarantee⁠5.
  4. Most program pages say little about who reviews your work, and refund terms run from Maven's guarantee, which refunds in full through a course's midpoint or week 2, to no refund at all⁠9,10.
  5. No school can guarantee you a job, the FTC says, so treat salary-hike figures without a stated method as marketing⁠11,12,13.

Live forward deployed engineer training, or FDE training, comes in four shapes. Short live cohorts run two to six weeks and listed $1,200 to $3,000 on Maven when we checked⁠7,8,3. Multi-month programs run 12 to 23 weeks part-time in the US⁠12,4 and up to 12 months in India⁠14. Train-and-place pathways such as Revolent's employ you and place you with a client instead of charging a fee⁠5. Employer programs train a company's own engineers⁠6,15. None of them can guarantee you a job⁠11. For an experienced engineer, a short cohort is usually the better fit.

How we checked. We loaded every page cited here on 22 and 23 October 2026 and describe each program in its provider's own terms. We did not attend any, so nothing here is a test result, and we do not score or rank them, apart from our top pick. Prices and dates change often.

What kinds of forward deployed engineer training can you join?

"FDE training" covers four different products. Knowing which one you are looking at matters more than comparing syllabi.

  • Live cohort bootcamps. Two to six weeks of scheduled sessions with an instructor and a few projects, such as the Maven cohorts below⁠7,3.
  • Multi-month programs. Three to twelve months of scheduled live classes, usually with a capstone and career support⁠12,4,14.
  • Train-and-place pathways. A firm hires you, trains you and places you with a client. Revolent calls its program "a career pathway, not a course you pay for"⁠5.
  • Employer programs. Sold to companies that want to turn their own engineers into FDEs, such as Gauntlet AI's Catalyst FDE⁠6 and NextAgile's in-house program⁠15, so your employer would have to buy the seat.

To learn on your own schedule, see our comparison of self-paced forward deployed engineer courses; for credentials, see our guide to forward deployed engineer certifications.

How do the FDE training programs compare?

Table 1. Programs aimed at individual learners, as each provider described them, with prices checked on 22 October 2026. Torchlane's pages were checked on 23 October 2026.

Scroll the table sideways for every column.

Table 1. Programs aimed at individual learners, as each provider described them, with prices checked on 22 October 2026. Torchlane's pages were checked on 23 October 2026.
ProgramProvider-stated length and hoursLive or recordedProjectWho reviews your workPriceThe provider's own claims
Our top pick*: AI FDE training (Torchlane)⁠1,2,1690-day goal; about 9 hours a week to start; 120 days of accessLessons and guided builds; live sessions not describedOne of 3 guided builds, 3 to 6 simulated client projects, then a capstoneSeven published categories, all must pass; human review of the capstone and mock interview; reviewers not named. Reviewer availability and turnaround are confirmed in the written enrollment offerNo price published; terms given in writing during admissionsCareer preparation; no guarantee of hiring, salary or promotion
Forward Deployed Engineering Bootcamp, Hamza Farooq (Maven). Live cohort.⁠3About 6 weeks from Nov 14, 2026; 12 live sessions; total hours not statedLive, with recordingsFour projects, one taken from an empty repo to a deployed productNot stated; optional office hours$2,500Says you will ship a "live, deployed product that handles real traffic"
Forward Deployed AI Engineer Bootcamp, Meri Nova and Hai Nghiem (Maven). Live cohort.⁠84 weeks from Nov 16, 2026; 14 live sessions; hours not statedLive; recordings for a six-month access windowOne FDE project: requirements document, proof-of-concept walkthrough, final demo"Structured feedback" in office hours; reviewer not named$3,000Says it helps you "be job-ready for AI FDE roles"
Become an FDE or Product Engineer, Paden Gayle (Maven). Live cohort.⁠72 weeks from Oct 26, 2026; 4 live sessionsLive, with recordingsTwo interview-style case exercisesScored twice on a published rubric; the instructor, listed as an FDE at Notion, plays the stakeholder$1,200Built to prepare you for the FDE interview case round
FDE Bootcamp with AI (Skillify Solutions). Multi-month.⁠1212 weeks, 48 hours; weekend mornings or weekday evenings, US Eastern timeLive; all sessions recordedPortfolio projects; team capstone from a mock client brief, presented to a panelMentors review code and architecture; panel members not described$3,000Page cites "85% salary hikes" with no method given
FDE Program (Interview Kickstart). Multi-month.⁠423 weeks; about 4 to 6 live hours plus 6 to 8 hours of assignments a weekLive; all sessions recorded8 guided builds and a capstone chosen from enterprise scenarios or your own projectInstructors guide the capstone; grading not describedNot listed; the page leads with a free webinarCompany-wide claim that its engineers land big-tech offers
FDE Live Training (Isha Training Solutions). Short live course.⁠1030 hours; four one-hour sessions a weekLive, with a year of recordingsNot describedNot stated$119, shown as reduced from $200Certificate of completion; no refund once you pay
Applied AI and FDE Careers Program (Revolent). Train and place.⁠56 to 8 weeks of full-time training, then up to 2 years on a client placementInstructor-led; remote and on-site optionsA deployed, evaluated and documented capstone portfolioNot describedNo fee; you join Revolent as an employeeA permanent offer is the intended outcome, "not a guarantee"
AI Forward Deployed Engineer Program (Scaler, India). Multi-month.⁠1412 months, with the final three focused on placements; 197 live sessionsLive, with recordingsOne continuous simulated client, then a capstone with a new oneMentors review your client work; 14 graded assessments₹3,99,000Placement assistance; its FAQ says it does not guarantee a job

* Our top pick. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

Most pages say little about who reviews your work; apart from our top pick, Paden Gayle's course is the only one that says your work is scored against a published rubric⁠7. Also, the client-facing part of the job can be a small share of the time: in Interview Kickstart's 23 weeks, customer discovery and scoping start in week 13, after an 11-week AI engineering block⁠4.

In India, besides Scaler, Bengaluru-based FDE Academy lists an eight-month, 32-week program with its next cohort starting 31 October 2026 and no price on its page⁠17, and NareshIT lists a four-month online course with a batch at 9 PM India time, tells learners to plan for 12 to 15 hours a week, and shows a fee of 35000 with no currency named⁠13. InterviewBit Varsity publishes a comparison of Indian programs that lists first a certificate it offers with IIT Delhi, ranks Scaler second and prompts readers to download Scaler's brochure⁠18. Read it with that in mind.

Which FDE training fits your situation?

You are an experienced engineer adding client skills

Buy the shortest program that makes you practice what you have not done: discovery from a vague brief, scoping, and defending trade-offs to someone who pushes back. Employers expect the engineering already: Palantir's Forward Deployed Software Engineer posting in New York asks for 1+ years of relevant post-college work experience and strong coding in a language such as Python, Java, C++ or TypeScript, alongside direct work with customer stakeholders "from technical teams to executives"⁠19. If interviews are the bottleneck, Paden Gayle's course is built around the case round⁠7. For one full build with feedback at each stage, the four-week Nova and Nghiem bootcamp is closer⁠8. Before you pay out of pocket, ask your employer: Maven's course pages offer an email template, receipts and a certificate of completion for employer reimbursement⁠3.

Verdict: a short live cohort, ideally paid for by your employer. A 12-month program would mostly re-teach what you know. If you would rather add customer discovery, client communication and an assessed portfolio to the engineering you already have, our top pick is Torchlane's AI FDE training, though Torchlane says production architecture and complex integrations may need experience beyond the program⁠2,16.

We have a business connection with Torchlane.

You are not a software engineer yet

No program here turns a non-engineer into an FDE in weeks, and several say so plainly. Revolent lists non-technical consultants and recent graduates as probably not the right fit⁠5. Hamza Farooq's bootcamp expects Python, GitHub and at least one Docker-based deployment⁠3. Interview Kickstart says its program is built for senior engineers⁠4. Be wary of pages that try to cover everyone: Skillify's page calls its bootcamp "not an absolute-beginner program" and also "Perfect for First-Time Learners"⁠12.

Verdict: for FDE roles, learn software engineering first, ideally in a job with some customer contact, then add FDE training. If you want to move into applied AI work from a business background, our top pick is Torchlane's AI FDE training: you can apply without coding experience, it builds technical capability around the expertise you already have, and it names applied AI operator, implementation, consulting and internal AI roles as possible steps while you keep building engineering depth, though it says a beginner should not treat it as a substitute for the engineering experience a senior FDE role requires⁠1,2.

We have a business connection with Torchlane.

You need paid income while you retrain

There are two routes. One is a part-time program that fits around a full-time job: Interview Kickstart says its 23 weeks are designed to run alongside one⁠4, and Skillify runs weekend and weekday evening batches⁠12. The other is a train-and-place pathway such as Revolent's, where you are an employee from the start⁠5.

Verdict: keep your job and study part-time, unless you already have the experience a train-and-place firm screens for. Then read the next section before you apply.

How is a paid placement pathway different from a course you buy?

With a course, you pay, you keep the skills, and you choose where to apply. With a train-and-place pathway, the firm pays, and in return it decides where you work for a set period.

You join Revolent, train full-time for six to eight weeks depending on prior experience (elsewhere the same page says 4 to 12), then work on-site with an AI lab's team "still as a Revolent employee for up to two years"⁠5. It looks for engineers with 3 to 5+ years of experience and a record of customer delivery or consulting, and says travel to customer sites is part of the role⁠5. Its page for client companies sets the intake bar at 5+ years and says more than 80% of "Revols", its name for participants, convert to permanent staff, a figure Revolent publishes about itself with no method or time period given⁠20. Revolent calls its career programs fully funded, with a paid placement of up to two years⁠21; Revolent's FDE page does not publish pay.

A permanent offer is the intended outcome but "not a guarantee", and you commit to the full training plus up to two years on placement, with a two-week trial period⁠5. Get the terms in writing before you sign, including what you would owe if you left early. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's 2023 report on employer-driven debt covers training repayment agreement provisions, which require workers to pay back training costs if they leave before the end of a commitment period⁠22. Revolent's FDE page lists no repayment terms; it says your talent acquisition contact walks you through the exact terms before you commit⁠5.

What do employer FDE training programs look like?

If your company is building an FDE team, the cheapest training may be the one it buys. Gauntlet AI's Catalyst FDE runs six weeks: four weeks of remote prework at 8 to 10 hours a week, then two weeks full-time on-site in Austin, with stakeholder simulations and "human-graded review of every delivery"; no price is listed⁠6. NextAgile's program runs 10 weeks and roughly 80 hours for in-house corporate batches, live online, on-site or hybrid, and ends with a capstone defended live before a review panel; pricing is custom⁠15.

Both center on practice with ambiguous briefs and stakeholders who push back: Gauntlet calls discovery and stakeholder management the scarce skill⁠6, and NextAgile says most engineering training never prepares engineers for a vague client ask⁠15.

What should you check before you pay for FDE training?

  • A simulated client, not only builds. Look for a changing brief and someone playing the client. Scaler builds its whole program around one simulated retailer⁠14, Skillify's capstone starts from a mock client brief⁠12, and NareshIT's ends with a presentation to a customer-style panel⁠13. A program that is only a sequence of builds is AI engineering under a new name.
  • Human review by a named person. Ask who reads your work, how often, and against what standard. If a page promises "feedback" but names no reviewer, ask before you pay.
  • Instructor backgrounds you can verify. Look instructors up yourself, and favor people who have held FDE or client delivery roles.
  • Refund terms in writing. On courses showing its badge, Maven's guarantee gives a full refund through the midpoint of a course shorter than four weeks, and through the end of week 2 for courses of four weeks or more⁠9. Isha Training Solutions gives no refund once you pay⁠10. Skillify advertises "No Risk Enrollment" but we found no terms on its page⁠12. The Federal Trade Commission's advice applies: if a school will not give you documents to review before you commit, do not enroll⁠11.
  • No job guarantees, and outcome numbers you can trace. The FTC puts it plainly: "No school can guarantee you a job when you graduate"⁠11. Treat unexplained headline figures as marketing: Skillify cites "85% salary hikes"⁠12 and NareshIT a "100% Avg salary hike"⁠13; neither page gives a method or a sample size.

Until programs publish outcomes for their FDE graduates with a stated method, choose on what a program makes you do and who checks it, not on what it promises.

Common questions

Is a forward deployed engineer bootcamp worth it?

For an engineer who has not done client-facing delivery, a short live cohort that includes a simulated client and real feedback can be worth the $1,200 to $3,000 Maven cohorts listed in October 2026, if you would not get that practice at work. It will not replace a record of shipping software for customers, and we found no FDE-specific outcome figures with a stated method on the pages we checked. If your employer will pay, let it.

Can I become a forward deployed engineer without a coding background?

Not through a short program. Employers screen for coding and work experience: Palantir's New York posting for a Forward Deployed Software Engineer, for example, asks for 1+ years of relevant post-college work experience and strong coding skills. Train-and-place firms such as Revolent screen for experienced engineers. Learn software engineering first, then add FDE training. If your aim is to move into applied AI work from a business background rather than to land a senior FDE role, our top pick, Torchlane's AI FDE training, lets you apply without coding experience, though Torchlane says a beginner should not treat it as a substitute for the engineering experience a senior FDE role requires. We have a business connection with Torchlane.

How long does forward deployed engineer training take?

Provider-stated lengths run from two weeks for an interview-focused Maven cohort to 23 weeks for Interview Kickstart's part-time US program, and up to 12 months for Scaler's program in India. Revolent's train-and-place pathway trains full-time for six to eight weeks, then places you with a client for up to two years.

Do FDE training programs guarantee a job?

None of the programs we checked guarantees a job. Revolent says a permanent offer is the intended outcome but not a guarantee, Scaler says it does not guarantee a job, and the FTC's consumer advice says no school can guarantee you a job when you graduate. Be wary of any program that implies otherwise.

Are paid train-and-place FDE programs really free?

You pay no fee, but you commit your time: Revolent asks for the full training plus up to two years on placement, with a two-week trial period. Ask for the full agreement in writing before you sign, including whether you would owe anything if you left early.

Competing interests. We have a business connection with Torchlane. This article names it as our top pick. How we are funded.

Sources

  1. [1]Torchlane. FDE training and AI certification. Accessed . Back to text
  2. [2]Torchlane. AI FDE training: forward deployed AI engineering. Accessed . Back to text
  3. [3]Maven. Forward Deployed Engineering Bootcamp by Hamza Farooq on Maven. Accessed . Back to text
  4. [4]Interview Kickstart. Become a Forward Deployed Engineer | FDE Program. Accessed . Back to text
  5. [5]Tenth Revolution Group. Revolent: Applied AI and Forward Deployed Engineer Careers Program. Accessed . Back to text
  6. [6]Gauntlet AI. Catalyst FDE - Train Forward Deployed Engineers. Accessed . Back to text
  7. [7]Maven. Become an FDE or Product Engineer: The Future-Proof Path for Software Engineers by Paden Gayle on Maven. Accessed . Back to text
  8. [8]Maven. Forward Deployed AI Engineer Bootcamp by Meri Nova and Hai Nghiem on Maven. Accessed . Back to text
  9. [9]Maven Help Center. Maven's Satisfaction Guarantee, 12 September 2026. Accessed . Back to text
  10. [10]Isha Training Solutions. Forward Deployment Engineer (FDE) - Live Training. Accessed . Back to text
  11. [11]Federal Trade Commission, Consumer Advice. Choosing a Vocational School or Certificate Program, May 2021. Accessed . Back to text
  12. [12]Skillify Solutions. Forward Deployed Engineer Bootcamp with AI: Build, Deploy, and Ship Solutions On-Site. Accessed . Back to text
  13. [13]NareshIT. Forward Deployed Engineer (FDE) Training Course | NareshIT. Accessed . Back to text
  14. [14]Scaler. Forward Deployed Engineer Course with Specialisation in Applied AI. Accessed . Back to text
  15. [15]NextAgile. Forward Deployed Engineer Training Program. Accessed . Back to text
  16. [16]Torchlane. AI skills assessment and credentials. Accessed . Back to text
  17. [17]FDE Academy. Forward Deployed Engineer (AI FDE) | IIT Certified Course. Accessed . Back to text
  18. [18]InterviewBit Varsity. Best Forward Deployed Engineer Training Programmes in India (2026), Compared, 3 October 2026. Accessed . Back to text
  19. [19]Palantir Technologies. Palantir Technologies - Forward Deployed Software Engineer (New York). Accessed . Back to text
  20. [20]Tenth Revolution Group. Revolent: Applied AI (Hire, Train, Deploy). Accessed . Back to text
  21. [21]Tenth Revolution Group. Tech careers: Fully-funded training and placement | Revolent. Accessed . Back to text
  22. [22]Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Issue Spotlight: Consumer risks posed by employer-driven debt, 20 July 2023. Accessed . Back to text

Each source was opened and checked on the date shown. How we source.